This House

by James Graham

Minerva Theatre
Overview. Skip back to tab navigationCast and Creatives. Skip back to tab navigationGallery. Skip back to tab navigation


The National Theatre production in association with Chichester Festival Theatre and Headlong

Ferociously witty and permeated by a deep sense of the tragi-comic nature of all political systems

Daily Telegraph

A landslide success

Evening Standard

‘This country is being kept alive on aspirin when what it needs is electric bloody shock therapy.’

1974. The UK faces economic crisis and a hung parliament. In a culture hostile to cooperation, it’s a period when votes are won or lost by one, when there are fist fights in the bars and when sick MPs are carried through the lobby to register their vote. It’s a time when a staggering number of politicians die, and the building creaks under idiosyncrasies and arcane traditions.

Set in the engine rooms of Westminster, James Graham’s This House strips politics down to the practical realities of those behind the scenes: the whips who roll up their sleeves and on occasion bend the rules to shepherd and coerce a diverse chorus of MPs within the Mother of all Parliaments.

This acclaimed play premiered at the National Theatre in 2012. Graham’s other work includes The Vote at the Donmar Warehouse and also broadcast live on election night. Director Jeremy Herrin’s previous work at Chichester includes Uncle Vanya (2012) and Another Country (2013). He is Artistic Director of Headlong.

Get closer to the theatricality and mayhem of British politics with a limited number of tickets for House of Commons-style seating. These extra tickets - some of which will be on stage - offer a unique opportunity to immerse yourself in the Commons Chamber. The only question is, which side will you choose - left or right?

Cast & Creatives


Cast List

Phil Daniels

Bob Mellish

Kevin Doyle

Michael Cocks

Robert Gilbert

Clockmaker, Redditch, Nuneaton, Peebles, Armagh, Ambulance Man, Stirlingshire West, Clerk and Ensemble

Christopher Godwin

Batley, Woolwich West, Belfast North, Western Isles and Ensemble

David Hounslow

Joe Harper

Ed Hughes

Fred Silvester

Peter Landi

Oxshott, Belfast West, St Helens and Ensemble

Lauren O'Neil

Ann Taylor

Nathaniel Parker

Jack Weatherill

Matthew Pidgeon

Paddington South, Chelmsford, South Ayrshire, Henley, Merioneth, Coventry North West, Rushcliffe and Perry Barr

Steffan Rhodri

Walter Harrison

Malcolm Sinclair

Humphrey Atkins

Giles Taylor

Speaker 1, Serjeant 2, West Lothian and Ensemble

Tony Turner

Bromsgrove, Abingdon, Paisley, Fermanagh and Ensemble

Orlando Wells

Walsall North, Plymouth Sutton, Speaker 2, Clerk and Ensemble

Sarah Woodward

Rochester & Chatham, Coventry SW, Welwyn & Hatfield, Lady Batley and Ensemble

Creative Team

Cast List

James Graham


Jeremy Herrin


Rae Smith


Paule Constable

Lighting Designer

Scott Ambler


Stephen Warbeck


Ian Dickinson

Sound Designer

Alastair Coomer

Casting Director



Sponsored by


Running Time
2 hrs and 45 mins including the interval